Earl Scruggs Merchandise

Earl Scruggs and
the 5-String Banjo
Instructional Book

A newly revised and enhanced edition.

The best-selling banjo method in the world! Earl Scruggs's legendary method has helped thousands of banjo players get their start. The “Revised and Enhanced Edition” features more songs, updated lessons, and many other improvements. It includes everything you need to know to start playing banjo, including: a history of the 5-string banjo, getting acquainted with the banjo, Scruggs tuners, chords, how to read tablature, right-hand rolls and left-hand techniques, banjo tunings, exercises in picking, over 40 songs, how to build a banjo, autobiographical notes, and much more! The book/CD version includes a CD with Earl Scruggs playing and explaining over 60 examples!

The optional instructional CD contains 60 tracks that accompany the lessons in the book. Each lesson is a seperate track to ease learning. If purchased with the book, the CD is included in a plastic sleeve in the back cover of the book. If the CD is purchased separately, it comes in a standard jewel case. Some copies of the original instructional cassette tape are still available.

Softcover with CD in backcover: $34.00
Softcover without CD: $19.00
Instructional CD in jewel case: $15
Instructional cassette tape: $9

Table of Contents

  • Getting Acquainted with your Banjo
  • Scruggs Tuners, Hooks and Capos
  • Tuning the Banjo
  • Chords
  • How to Read Tablature
  • Timing - new
  • Right-Hand Rolls and Left-Hand Techniques
  • Playing the Banjo - Basic Tips
  • Exercises in Picking - over 100 lessons
  • Song Section - 44 songs (14 new songs) - See songs below
  • My Life and Times (Earl's updated autobiography)
  • A Brief History of the 5-String Banjo
  • How to Build a Banjo
  • Making Scruggs Tuners
  • Other sectoins in the revised and enhanced edition include: Earl's preface, Dr. Nat T. Winston's Foreword, an Introduction written by Dr. Burt Brent, and a page with description and photos of the banjo Earl first learned to play titled "My Father's Banjo."

Songs in the book:
  • American Made-World Played
  • Ballad Of Jed Clampett
  • Bleeker Street Rag
  • Blue Ridge Cabin Home
  • Broad River
  • Careless Love
  • Carolina Boogie
  • Carolina Traveler
  • Cripple Creek
  • Cumberland Gap
  • Dear Old Dixie
  • Earl's Breakdown
  • Flint Hill Special
  • Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • Foggy Mountain Chimes
  • Good Times Are Past And Gone
  • Ground Hog
  • Ground Speed
  • Home Sweet Home
  • Hot Corn, Cold Corn
  • Instrumental In D Minor
  • John Henry
  • Little Darling Pal Of Mine
  • Lonesome Road Blues
  • Loraderojost 111 Breakdown
  • My Cabin In Caroline
  • Nashville Blues
  • Old Folks
  • Pedal To The Medal
  • Pick Along
  • Pretty Polly
  • Randy Lynn Rag
  • Reuben
  • Roller Coaster
  • Sally Ann
  • Sally Goodwin
  • Shuckin' The Corn
  • Silver Eagle
  • Station Break
  • String Bender
  • Train Number Forty-Five
  • Yonder Stands Little Maggie
  • You Bake Right With Martha White
  • Your Love Is Like A Flower

Click here for the Order Form
Back to the Merchandise Catalog

Home Page   -   Biography   -   News   -   Concert Dates

© 2005 Earl Scruggs